What's cooking?

Last day for Big Fair Bake!

Me and my mud cake with rum and raisin ganache

Me and my mud cake with rum and raisin ganache

Big Fair Bake is an awesome competition to get people to use Fair Trade ingredients. It’s all about the sharing: to enter, you bake using some Fair Trade products, and then take pictures of you and your friends enjoying them. Entries must be in by tomorrow, Tuesday 10th September. So get baking!

My experience

I chose to make Mud Cake with Rum and Raisin Ganache… since I could find Fair Trade chocolate, raisins and coffee.

Do you know how hard it is to get Fair Trade ingredients?

My local Fair Trade shop sells Fair Trade chocolate, sugar, coffee and a small selection of spices. But – my chosen recipe of Mud Cake with Rum and Raisin Ganache has close to a kilo of chocolate in it. Much as I love the Fair Trade shop, I might bankrupt myself trying to purchase all the chocolate there. Luckily Whittaker’s 72% Dark Ghana is Fair Trade, and no more expensive than their other lines. It’s available in most supermarkets. However beyond chocolate and coffee, my local supermarket had nothing Fair Trade. Not cocoa, not sugar… Disappointing.

So here’s my selection of lovely Fair Trade ingredients:

My selection of Fair Trade goodies

My selection of Fair Trade goodies

And finally, Ronald enjoying his guilt-free slice of cake!

Fairness adds flavour to Fair Trade goodies!

Fairness adds flavour to Fair Trade goodies!

Leave a Reply

