What's cooking?

Vegetable paella with added spice!

Fresh, crunchy broccoli and toasted cashew nuts form the base of this vegetarian dish

Fresh, crunchy broccoli and toasted cashew nuts form the base of this vegetarian dish

After a few days of loads of bread and cheese, I was interested to make a dairy-free, gluten-free dinner. What better than cashew nut paella?

I often make vegetarian paella with green peppers and tomatoes, but I wanted to try something without tomato for a change. Instead I tried broccoli and cashew nuts in the rice, along with Sazón Goya for the first time.

Sazón Goya is a ‘Latino’ spice blend which comes in sachets. It’s main flavours are cilantro and annatto – a crazy-looking tropical seed which adds lots of colour to dishes. I was pleasantly surprised by the flavour it gave my dish – not to mention the glorious colour. The paella was so yum, I went back for seconds. (And then thirds. Shush. Don’t tell anyone!)

As I’m not an expert in Latin American food, this was a handy cheat for me! Thanks to Salvo and Raul for introducing it to me.

If you’d like the recipe for this paella, drop me a comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

