Discoveries

LSA: a hard grind?

LSA

My linseed, sunflower and almond grind vs the Healtheries one

I’ve been enjoying Healtheries LSA (linseed, sunflower and almond) ground mix for a while now. I got the one with ‘supergrains’ – chia, buckwheat and summat else. Not sure what’s super about them, but it was quite nice, thank you Healtheries. 🙂

The pack seemed expensive but lasted a long time, so was probably quite good value.

Nonetheless, I figure freshly ground is better than pre-ground, so I thought I’d try my own. I used my little Sunbeam coffee grinder. It didn’t seem to like that much, so if you have one, maybe don’t try it! The Healtheries pack actually tells you the %s of each major ingredient – I just put roughly equal proportions in and then tweaked for flavour. When it’s too heavy on almond, it’s too sweet, whereas too much linseed can be a bit overpowering.

Mine ended up looking like this – right dish, versus the Healtheries one on the left. They taste similar.

Healtheries LSA vs home-ground LSA

Healtheries LSA vs home-ground LSA

Thus far I haven’t used LSA in many things – just porridge and the odd bit of baking. If you’ve used it, what recipes /uses would you recommend?

Leave a Reply

