What's cooking?

Christmas Pud adventures!

The table laid with cream and brandy butter and brandy - ready to set the pud on fire!

The table laid with cream and brandy butter and brandy – ready to set the pud on fire!

You may recall that many posts ago I shared the making of the Christmas pudding

Seems like a very long time ago – but Christmas pudding actually has to be made in advance to allow the flavours to develop. About 6 or 7 weeks is good. My pud has been in the larder since then, and I’ve been treating it to an occasional dousing of brandy for good measure.

Well, it was finally time to see if the fruits of my labour would pay off. I invited some friends round to take the pudding plunge with me and set to steaming it once more – for an hour of reheating this time. At least it wasn’t seven hours like the original steaming!

fresh cream, brandy butter and fresh strawberries.

The perfect accompaniments for a down-under Christmas pud: fresh cream, brandy butter and fresh strawberries.

While I was waiting I whipped some fresh cream and made brandy butter, which is not actually butter, but essentially butter cream with brandy in it.

When the moment came, I turned out the pud from its non-stick basin, only to have bits of it stick quite determinedly! It certainly didn’t look like a poster child for Christmas pud. But, you know what? I didn’t mind a bit. A few crumbs ended up in my mouth accidentally-on-purpose and suddenly I was in Yuletide heaven.

xmaspud2

The turned out pud certainly didn’t look like a poster child for Christmas pudding. But I didn’t mind a bit.

It was moist and fragrant and oh-so-delicious.

The pudding party went down well. We managed to set the pud on fire for about 3 seconds before it went out (which was good, because I wasn’t sure how to put it out!).

We paired this with a slightly sweet fizzy wine, which worked quite well – I don’t think sherry or port would have been so good in the warmth of the New Zealand summer.

The five of us skipped dinner and made it through a good two-thirds of the pud – an epic feat!

 

Leave a Reply

