What's cooking?

Everything tastes great in lasagne!

Lasagne

Cauliflower lasagne

Every so often I’m hit by a wild craving for lasagne. It just has to be satisfied, even if I have cauliflower in the fridge needing used up. Yep, you heard me. Cauliflower.

Not a classic pairing, lasagne with cauliflower, I’ll admit.

But this was actually seriously yum. Thus reinforcing my belief that lasagne makes the world a better place.

There are loads of ways to make lasagne al forno (the full name of the dish – ‘lasagne’ actually just means the sheets of pasta, while ‘al forno’ means done in the oven). I am unashamedly blinkered when it comes to any but my own – I love it that much.

I’ll give you the brief version, since you probably know, or can find out, how to make white / béchamel sauce.

How to make a yummy lasagne

  • Start by preheating the oven to 160°C.

Prepare the red sauce first

  • Using a generous amount of olive oil, sauté a finely sliced onion. When softened, add a 700 ml bottle of tomato passata (sieved tomatoes) and bring up to heat. Add the herbs you’re in the mood for – here I used basil and bay, but you could also go for a more pizza-like flavour with oregano. Salt to taste. Simmer for a while – longer is better – but stir from time to time so it doesn’t stick.

Prepare the filling next

  • I lightly steamed small florets of cauliflower – keeping them firm rather than mushy.

Grate cheese and crumb bread for the top

  • Parmigiano is the best cheese to use. Cheddar is just sacrilege.

Make the béchamel when everything else is ready

  • Keep it runny.

Assemble!

  • Red, filling, white, lasagne sheet, repeat! If you like more pasta, try red, filling, sheet, white, filling, sheet, repeat. Finish with sheet, white, crumb/cheese mix.

Bake for 45 minutes, or until done

Let it sit, out of the oven, for 5 minutes before serving – it firms up a bit. Okay, so I don’t always have the willpower to do this, but do as I say, not as I do, okay?

One thought on “Everything tastes great in lasagne!

Leave a Reply

