Discoveries

Green stevia disaster!

Green Stevia cake

Stevia has been lauded as a ‘natural’ sweetener which is healthier than other low calorie sweeteners. The jury’s still out on its long term benefits and dangers, but it’s available in many forms: tablet, drops, sachet and unrefined – i.e. green, powdered stevia leaves. The latter is disturbingly green and definitely lends that colour to anything it’s in. However, it’s probably the only form which would be convenient for cooking. It’s also by far cheaper than the other forms.

I decided to see what I could do with it in a cake. I read the advice and recipes currently on-line about using stevia in cakes, but still managed to get it wrong. One site suggested using a quarter of the quantity of sugar usually in a recipe. They probably meant volume, because I used a quarter of the weight…

To make it a good experiment I divided my carrot cake mix in two and put normal sugar in one half and stevia in the other. I baked them in the same tin, as you can see in the photo.

This was way too much stevia. On a positive note, the normal half was yum. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Green stevia disaster!

  1. Wow! I have never baked with stevia, but this is food for thought! I was just looking at a packet of the stuff in a health food store about 2 hours ago. I am still keen to try it, but maybe I should search for a recipe that’s stevia-specific. Sounds like it could be a bit tricky to manage otherwise. Glad the other half was yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

