What's cooking?

Rhubarb crumble

crumble

Rhubarb crumble

Something about baked puddings always reminds me of being seven years old, sitting at the big dining table in my childhood home with my family. To make the picture complete, I should really have made custard. Instead I had this with New Zealand Natural Macadamia Supreme ice cream, which I have to admit was pretty darn good.

Rhubarb, berry & peach crumble

About five sticks rhubarb (mine is growing like wildfire at the moment so I have had to think of several uses for it!)
Other fruit as desired: I used some left over berry coulis and a can of peaches
Honey or brown sugar and cinnamon to taste

Topping:

I used BestRecipes.com.au’s crumble topping recipe. It was tasty, almost like a cobbler, but a bit of work rubbing in the fat. I’ll probably revert to my usual easy oat topping next time.

  1. Preheat fan oven to ~175C.
  2. Gently stew the fruit together, taking care not to let it dry out or stick. Add enough honey or sugar and cinnamon to suit your tastes.
  3. When the rhubarb softens, pour into casserole and top with crumble topping.
  4. Bake for 30-40 mins or until brown.

Great easy dessert which nonetheless feels like a special treat. Suits many fruits (this combination was delicious!) so have a play with whatever’s in season.

One thought on “Rhubarb crumble

Leave a Reply

